The works accepted for participation in the competition have been evaluated by an international jury. Prominent karstologists, artists and teachers, united by the idea of a more active inclusion of karst in education, have been invited to become its members.
During the evaluation, each competition work is anonymous and is presented to the jury members with an official number. The names of the authors of the awarded works will be revealed after the official ranking. Then the composition of the International Jury is announced.

The evaluation was carried out according to the following criteria approved for the competition:

  1. Originality of the idea realized in the respective entry
  2. Knowledge about karst
  3. Artistic values
  4. Emotional suggestions
  5. Technical skills
  6. Creative autonomy


Member of the jury Profession Workplace Country
Assoc. prof. Dilyana STEFANOVA, PhD - Chairman Geographer NIGGG-BAS, Sofia Bulgaria
Prof. Wiaczeslaw ANDREJCZUK, D.Sc Geographer, karstologist Faculty of Geography and Regional Studies, University of Warsaw Poland
Stefan ZOMMER Teacher - history, economics Teletta-Gro?-Gymnasium, Lear, Lower Saxony Germany
Eng. Olga SULDOVSKA ICT specialist, speleologist Cave management in the Czech Republic, Pruhonice Czech Republic
Mgr. Tereza TESAROVA Teacher - geography and biology Home of nature in the Moravian Karst, Blansko Czech Republic
Petar STEFANOV Geographer, karstologist NIGGG-BAS, Sofia Bulgaria
Krasto TERZIEV Painter "Alant Technologies" Ltd., Sofia Bulgaria

The international jury awarded 4 first, 15 second and 14 third prizes, and another 18 works of 22 authors were awarded with encouragement. In the fifth edition of the competition, the winner of the Grand Prize for original creative achievement was not announced. You can view the award-winning works in the respective competition categories in the sections of this site. Information about the results of the fifth edition of the competition is also published on the website of the International Year of Caves and Karst (IYCK2021).

Distribution of awards by country